top of page

History of Bowls Cyprus

Bowls Cyprus was created in 2006 not long after the fourth bowling club was established in Cyprus. 

World bowls were contacted by representatives of the then four clubs and meetings were set up in order to establish Bowls Cyprus Two representative from each of the four clubs, Aliathon, Aphrodite, Coral Bay and Peyia took on the task of creating a Constitution for Bowls Cyprus. 

A competition was held to design a logo for Bowls Cyprus which was won by Barbara Roberts.

That same logo, with updated colours, is the one currently used by Bowls Cyprus.

A President, Tony Marshall from Aphrodite and Vice President, Roger Shire from Coral Bay were appointed.

Bowls Cyprus Presidency rotates each year between the three remaining clubs on the island Aliathon, Aphrodite and Coral Bay.

Executive Officers for the various Disciplines were appointed and met as the Management Committee. The full Council meeting also included 2 appointed delegates from each of the clubs, which met separately.

Originally it was the President who chaired both of these meetings until a change in procedure brought in an elected Chairman and Vice Chairman and the role of President became an honorary role.

Bowls Cyprus have been represented in numerous competitions including Atlantic Championships, Test matches, Champion of Champions and within the first six weeks of formation Bowls Cyprus hosted the 6th European Championships at the

Athena beach Hotel. The first ever international event hosted by Bowls Cyprus.

Now more than 16 years in existence Bowls Cyprus has enjoyed sponsorship from Chase Buchanan, Savvas Optical,

Abbeygate Insurance  and Constantinou Bros Hotels. 

bottom of page